Oxfam Trailwalker 2015

“You’re crazy. Will you sign up?”
Crazy; the only qualification you need to be invited to a join a team of people to walk 100km in one hit.

20140629-194947-71387158.jpgSo I’m in.

When I made this blog, I named it “charity walking” to capture the idea that we were taking a walk and raising money for charity: water along the way.
Little did we realise that when we left on 28 April 2014,  we would be doing another charity walk exactly eleven months later.

That is to say *I* hope to be walking again. The six youngest children are all too young to participate in this event, the eldest two have already excused themselves from family hiking endeavours and the Father has No Desire Whatsoever to walk anywhere that he could cycle, but everyone is completely totally entirely 100% supportive of me doing it.
(Just quietly, I think the kids might be more than a little pleased about the age restriction….although they might yet end up less than pleased that it means I get to go out hiking on Saturdays while they stay home and do the housework and bake the bread, but time will tell)

So what is it?
Oxfam Trailwalker.
A bunch of crazies who go and walk 100km around Lake Taupo in under 36 hours (the craziest ones run it in under 12 hours but that won’t be us) to raise money to fight poverty. More bunches of more crazies do it in other countries too (and collectively raise millions of dollars), but we’ll be doing the NZ one.

We? We need a team of four people and so far there are two or three of us confirmed. We range from mid forties to almost 70 in age and from not knowing each other at all to casual acquaintances. There are two females and one male and none of us are particularly athletic. Sounds like a recipe for success, no? Our first achievement will be to find the fourth person – so if you sound like one of us (ie over the age of 18, human, and have never done anything like this before), you’d be ideal and should sign up right now – only if you’d like to, of course. Leave a note in the comments and we will send you a Certificate of Craziness which you will not be able to destroy until you have proven it beyond all reasonable doubt by completing the event with us!

6 thoughts on “Oxfam Trailwalker 2015

  1. If I lived not on the opposite side of the planet, I totally would. Have fun finding the fourth! 🙂

    PS- Because I keep meaning to mention it, might sound odd but I started reading a book last month in Alaska where I keep thinking how much you’d love it- “If You Live Here, I’d Know Your Name” by Heather Lende. All about this woman who homesteads in small town Alaska with a large family, her thoughts on the lifestyle and spirituality and the people in the small town. If you can’t find a copy down there let me know as you can have mine when I finish!

  2. I’ve ordered the book from a library across town – just waiting for it to be delivered to my local. Would love to have you on our team! You could do the stargazing for the night portion of the walk!!

      • Best line was on the last page: I don’t think my family realizes that my reaction to events can change their perception of them. I don’t think they know how much power I have to make a moment good or bad. But I do.

        Who would’ve thought that a book about writing obituaries could be so captivating! Must have been great to read it when you were *there*

        • It’s a good one- glad you liked it!

          And yes, it was interesting, as it was a really good read when there (lots of chilling in the middle of nowhere over a book and the like) but had a little bit left when I returned to Amsterdam and it was hard to slog through such a tranquil book when you’re always busy running around doing things. I hadn’t expected that! But for Alaska it was a great read- never made it to Haines itself though.

Thanks for commenting....I'll do my best to get back to you.

